Home » First African, Iyabo Masha, Becomes G-24 Director 

First African, Iyabo Masha, Becomes G-24 Director 

by Silverbird News24

The Intergovernmental Group of 24 on International Monetary Affairs and Development (G24) has announced the appointment of Dr Iyabo Masha, as its Director.

The international organization stated this in a statement issued in Washington DC on Friday and made available to newsmen on Sunday in Abuja.
The   G-24 was established in 1971 as a representative grouping of developing countries across Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean.
The group in the statement said that Masha was the first African to occupy the position.

The G-24 also said that Masha, who was appointed on Feb. 24, would succeed the outgoing director, Ms Marilou Uy.
According to the G-24 secretariat, Masha is bringing to the position a wide range of policy, operational, and research experience at global and national levels.

“Masha was a member of Nigeria’s Presidential Economic Advisory Council from 2019-2022 which directly advises the President on economic policy.
“In that role, she provided leadership to the council’s work on global economic spillovers, macroeconomic and sustainable development policies.

“Prior to that, she worked on a range of countries at the International Monetary Fund, Washington DC, negotiating IMF lending programmes and developing non-programme policies for emerging market and low-income economies in Africa and Asia.
“She also served as IMF Resident Representative for Sierra Leone.
” Masha joined IMF from the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), in 2003, where she led the Research Department’s annual monetary programme,” the group said in the statement.

According to the G-24, Masha has authored and contributed to several publications, and she speaks regularly to diverse audiences on topical issues.

The G24 coordinates the position of developing countries on monetary and development issues, particularly issues on the agendas of the International Monetary and Financial Committee and the Development Committee.
It also represents the views of the group in relevant international fora.
Ministers of Finance and their deputies represent member countries on the board of governors, and the permanent secretariat is in Washington DC.

The executive arm of the Board of Governors for 2022/2023 is chaired by Adama Coulibaly, Minister of Finance, Côte d’Ivoire.
Mr Benjamin Diokno, Secretary of Finance, Philippines, and Sergio Tomás Massa, Minister of the Economy, Argentina, are the first and second vice-chairs, respectively.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment