Home » Ijebu Imusin Inaugurates Lagos Branch of IPB

Ijebu Imusin Inaugurates Lagos Branch of IPB

by Silverbird News24

Ijebu Imusin sons and daughters resident in Lagos, recently gathered at the Conference Room of the iconic Eye Foundation Hospital, on Isaac John Street, GRA Ikeja to inaugurate the Lagos Branch of Ijebu Imusin Planning Body (IPB).
IPB Lagos Branch with its almost 100 members at inception is poised to be the largest and most dynamic IPB branch globally.

The lead convener, Otunba Dr. Oye Eribake, explained the rationale behind the establishment of the Branch by delving into the origin of IPB as successor to Ijebu Imusin Progressive Society the existence of which can be traced to the turn of the 20th century. IPS provided a rallying point for Imusin sons and daughters for the socio-economic and administrative development of Ijebu Imusin. IPS started a noble initiative known then as Ijebu Imusin Annual Rally in August 1944 aimed at further cementing unity among the federating communities of Ijebu Imusin which was undoubtedly the first of its kind in Nigeria. IPB has consistently kept the Annual Rally on the front burner of social activities in Ijebu Imusin with several innovations to the extent that it has become a tourist attraction.

Unlike IPS which ran a decentralised organisation with branches in Ijebu, Ibadan, Lagos & Kaduna, IPB has been operating as a monolithic organisation headquartered in Ijebu Imusin. Cognisant of the need for inclusiveness from a wider spectrum of Ijebu Imusin and sons and daughters spread across the length and breadth of Nigeria and in the Diaspora, IPB EXCO approved a restructuring agenda at the beginning of this year giving room to formation of Branches.

In his acceptance speech, the Chairman, Prof Khalid Adekoya, expressed the readiness of EXCO to hit the ground running with immediate effect and diligently harness the human and material resources of members of the Branch to meet and even surpass IPB expectations. He appreciated the sacrifices of the fore-fathers in making the association relevant and becoming an icon of development to the entire Ijebu Imusin community. He stressed the willingness of the new executive committee to bring forth youths and professionals to contribute towards maintaining the development agenda.

Thereafter, the President of IPB, Otunba Tope Ogunnubi formally inaugurated the Branch and charged the EXCO to remain united and focused on the aims and objectives of the Body. He urged all IPB members to contribute meaningfully to make the 80th edition of the Annual Rally a resounding success.

EXCO Members physically present at the meeting. L-R Barr. Akinyinka Kalejaiye, Mrs. Aderonke Olaniyan, Mr. Dayo Ogunmowo, Mr. Ogunnaike Ogundeko, Prof Khalid Adekoya, Mr Olabade Badejo,
The Lagos Branch is the first of such; efforts are afoot for establishment of branches in UK, US, Europe & Canada.
The elected officials of the Branch are:
1. President: Prof Khalid Adekoya
2. Vice President: Ms. Sola Ismail
3. General Secretary: Engr. Ogunnaike Ogundeko
4. Asst General Secretary: Mr. Femi Oyewole
5. Treasurer: Mr. Kehinde Adeniji
6. Financial Secretary: Mr Olabade Badejo
7. Publicity Secretary: Alhaji Weheed Odusile
8. Social Secretary: Mr. Dayo Ogunmowo
9. Welfare Officer: Mrs. Aderonke Olaniyan
10. Legal Officer: Barr. Akinyinka Kalejaiye
Present at the gathering were some notable personalities like Alhaji Ismail A. Lawal, the founder of Eye Foundation Hospital, Otunba Dr. Kunle Hassan, who is one of the conveners of the meeting, two other co-conveners, Otunba Dr. Oye Eribake and Otunba Maj. – Gen. Sam Odunsi rtd. as well as Prof. Wahab Okunowo, Prof. Khalid Adekoya, Prof. Akin Onafalujo, Dr. Bola Ajayi, Mr. Olumide Odutayo and Ven. Dr. Femi Olusada. The President of IPB, Otunba Tope Ogunnubi led a delegation of IPB EXCOs from Ijebu Imusin including three past Presidents of the Body namely Chief Adebajo Badmus, Chief A. S. Kadiri and Chief Sir Alfred Idowu. The hybrid meeting featured many online participants chief amongst which were Engr. Kunle Ogunbayo, a co-convener, Hon. Alhaji Abdulwaheed Odusile – immediate past Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Ogun State, immediate past National President, Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) and a frontline member of the Nigerian Guild of Editors, Otunba Hameed Gafar and Mr. Femi Oyewole, former Registrar, Olabisi Onabanjo University.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment