Home News Mane, Oshoala Retain CAF Player Of The Year Awards

Mane, Oshoala Retain CAF Player Of The Year Awards

by Kunle Awosiyan

Super Falcons of Nigeria striker Assist Oshoala and Sadio Mane of Senegal have retained their CAF Player of the Year awards.

Both players were named 2022 CAF Player of the Year in the men and women categories, at the ceremony held in Rabat, Morocco on Thursday.

Mane, who clinched his second award after first winning it in 2019 – the last time the award was held – beat off competition from former Liverpool teammate Mohamed Salah and compatriot Edourd Mendy.

For Oshoala who also won it in 2019, it is a record fifth title as she now surpasses former Falcons striker Perpetual Nkwocha.

The Barcelona star finished ahead of Ajara Nchout Njoya of Cameroon and Inter Milan and Zambia’s Grace Chanda who plays for BIIK Kazygurt.

Other winners at the award include Pape Matar Sarr of Senegal and Tottenham Hotspur named Young Player of the Year for men, Evelyn Badu of Ghana and Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes for the women’s Young Player of the Year, Senegal’s Aliou Cisse won Coach of the Year for men and Banyana Banyana of South Africa coach Desiree Ellis won the award in the women’s category.

Teranga Lions of Senegal won the National Team of the Year for men, Wydad AC picked up the men’s Club of the Year, Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies won the women’s Club of the Year, the Interclub Player of the Year awards for men and women went to Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt and Al Ahly) and Ghana’s Badu respectively.

And the Goal of the Year award went to Pape Ousmane Sakho of Senegal and Simba.

Meanwhile, National Team of the Year for women will be announced on 23 July 2022 during the final match of the Women’s AFCON.

0 comment

Related Articles