Home News Anambra state govt suspends 12 traditional rulers

Anambra state govt suspends 12 traditional rulers

by Kunle Awosiyan

No fewer than 12 traditional rulers have been placed on  one year suspension by the Anambra State Government. A letter conveying the suspension was signed by the Commissioner for Local Government Chieftaincy and Community Affairs, Mr. Greg Obi.

The statement said the monarchs were suspended following recommendations by the Anambra State Traditional Rulers Council. The affected traditional rulers includes: Igwe Alex Edozieuno (Mkpunando), Igwe Mark Anthony Okonkwo (Alor), Igwe Chukwuma Bob Vincent Orji (Ezinifite), Igwe G.B.C. Mbakwe (Abacha), Igwe Chijioke Nwankwo (Nawfia) and Igwe Nkeli Nelly (Igbariam). Others are Igwe Anthony Onyekwere (Owelle), Igwe A.N. Onwuneme (Ikenga), Igwe Simon Ikechukwu Chidubem (Umumbo), Igwe S.O. Uche (Ezira), Igwe Emeka Ilouno (Ifitedunu) and Igwe Udoji (Eziagulu-Otu). A business Mogul from the State had earlier led the the 12 monarchs on a failed trip to Abuja to see the President.

0 comment

Related Articles

Leave a Comment